Sunday, May 16, 2010

ALA Scholarships Applications for the 2011 intake close on 30 June

The Australian Leadership Awards (ALA) Scholarships are a component of the
Australian Leadership Awards, a regional program under the Australian
Scholarships initiative. Australian Leadership Awards aim to develop
leadership, build partnerships and linkages within the Asia-Pacific.

They are intended for those who are already leaders or have the potential to
assume leadership roles that can influence social and economic policy reform
and development outcomes, both in their own countries and in the
Asia-Pacific region. The ALA program comprises of Scholarships and

ALA Scholarships are academically elite awards offered to high achievers
from the Asia-Pacific region each year to undertake postgraduate study
(Masters or Doctorate) and a Leadership Development Program in Australia.

Selection for ALA Scholarships is highly competitive, based on leadership
qualities and on academic excellence.

ALA Scholarships are an investment in the future of the Asia-Pacific region.
In this regard, ALA scholars are required to return to their home country or
the region for two years after they have completed their studies.

In future years, ALA scholars will belong to a unique group - the Australian
Scholarships Alumni Network (ASAN) - that will maintain strong and enduring
links to Australia. Managed by AusAID as part of Australia's overseas aid
program, ALA Scholarships are open only to citizens of countries in the
Asia-Pacific region with which Australia has a significant aid program.

*Objectives of ALA Scholarships* ALA Scholarships aim to:

-develop a cadre of leaders advancing regional reform, development and
-increase exchange of knowledge and information within the region
-build common purpose and understanding between Australia and the region
-build capacity to address priority regional issues
-build effective networks between Australia and the region
-demonstrate the benefits of Australian education through the provision of
high quality education.

*Fields of study*
Awards are open to all fields of study, however, study programs that relate
to the priority themes of international trade, pandemics, security and
climate change (including clean energy) are encouraged. Scholarships are not
available for military training, or training in areas related to nuclear
technology and flying aircraft.

*Levels of study*An ALA Scholarship enables candidates to undertake studies
leading to a Masters or Doctorate degree in Australia. It does not include
Graduate Diplomas, with the exception of those Masters courses that require
the completion of a Graduate Diploma as part of the Masters degree.

*Who should apply*Outstanding applicants with:

- a very high level of academic achievement at undergraduate and/or
postgraduate level
- a high level of English language proficiency
- demonstrated leadership potential and good prospects to influence
social and economic
- policy reform and development outcomes in their home country and in the
Asia-Pacific region
- a commitment to participate ASAN on their return home.

*Scholarship benefits*
An ALA Scholarship has a total value of up to A$110,000 for Masters degrees
and A$220,000 for Doctoral programs, not including provisions for the
leadership development program.. Benefits include:

- return air travel
- visa support
- establishment allowance
- full tuition fees
- contribution to living expenses
- Introductory Academic program (IAP)
- Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for
award holder only).

To be eligible for an Australian Leadership Award (ALA) Scholarship,
applicants must satisfy the eligibility requirements outlined below.

Applicants must be a citizen of one of the participating countries listed
Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federated
States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kiribati, Laos,
Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Palau, Papua New
Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tokelau,
Tonga, Tuvalu, Timor-Leste, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Wallis & Futuna

Applicants must not have Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent
residence status, nor be in the process of applying.

*Application information* Read the following information before you apply:

- Frequently asked questions
- Timeline for applicants
- Eligibility
- Selection criteria
- Terms and conditions of the
- How to apply

*Further information*
If the material found on this website does not provide the necessary help,
please direct enquiries by email to: au
More info: http://www.ausaid. ala.cfm

For More Information, Please Visit:

1 comment:

Hifhzil said...

Nice posting...menarik sekali

Oh..ya klo bs saya berminat dengan info beasiswa dan referensi pendidikan lainnya.

Mampir juga ke blog saya

Ditunggu kunjungan balasannya.

Salam Persahabatan